2021-22 
Volunteers + Board of Directors

iStock-1094679762.jpg

Rostock Ambassador

Bill Borden

Retired from NC Attorney General’s Office and Marine Corps Reserve.  I love traveling the nation and world, and keep abreast of the local scene on foot, by bicycle and by taking any excuse to drive around town.

Rostock@raleighsistercities.org

Cody Charland.jpeg

Board President/City Council Appointee

Cody Charland 

Cody is a manager for a law firm in downtown Raleigh and a second-year MBA student at NCSU. "My hope is that Sister Cities continues to transform Raleigh into an international partner and destination for many across the world."

 

President@raleighsistercities.org

Jada Landrum.jpg

Student Marketing Intern

Jada Landrum

"I’m a senior at NC State majoring in business administration with a concentration in marketing. I’m excited to serve the Raleigh community by creating and supporting beautification and sustainability projects."

Jada@raleighsistercities.org 

iStock-1094679762.jpg

Treasurer

Kevin Lord

Kevin retired in 2017 after 42 years in the banking industry. He now stays busy by being on the Boards of three non-profits and with his activities as a volunteer photographer for various non-profits. 

Kevin@raleighsistercities.org

mc2.jpg

Gibraltar Ambassador

Mary Clare Freeman

Mary Clare is a Raleigh native and currently works as the Director of Institutional Relations at Alamo Solutions, based in Madrid, Spain. She loves Raleigh's green spaces and ever-changing social and cultural scenes.

MaryClare@raleighsistercities.org

Michele Xiong.jpg

Board Member

Michele Xiong

"I am the Director of Diversity & Inclusion at the Raleigh Regional Association of REALTORS®. I’ve only been in Raleigh for the past two years, but I have to say it has been one of my favorite places to live." 

Michele@raleighsistercities.org

Ximena Uribe.jpeg

Lead Ambassador, City Council Appointee

Ximena Urïbe 

Ximena has dedicated her career to designing and producing events while connecting her passion to her work.  Business trips have taken her to many countries,  where she has been able to learn about their cultures and ways of life.

Ximena@raleighsistercities.org

IMG_5708.heic

Compíegne Ambassador

Cara Nina Gentile

Cara is a full-time mom of two, native to Raleigh, and alumni of NC State's College of Design. She built her first connection to Compíegne on a middle school trip and most recently on the 30th anniversary delegation visit in 2017.  

Clare@raleighsistercities.org

iStock-1094679762.jpg

Board Member, City Council Appointee 

David Kilbride

David works as the Assistant Principal Second Violin of the NC Symphony and is on the faculty of Raleigh Charter High School. An alum of both the Cleveland Institute of Music and the University of the Pacific, David received a certificate in non-profit management from Duke University in 2019. 

Clare@raleighsistercities.org

Jessica Holt.jpg

Board Member

Jessica Holt

"I am the Director of International Tourism and Public Relations for Visit Raleigh.I look forward to continuing to promote Raleigh as an international gateway and an innovative destination for businesses and leisure travelers from around the globe."

Jessica@raleighsistercities.org

Kiran Soma.jpg

Student Ambassador

Kiran Soma

"I am a second-year student double majoring in chemistry and communication media at NC State. Raleigh is an incredibly welcoming city with a unique culture, and I’m excited to have the opportunity to share that culture with individuals around the world."

Kiran@raleighsistercities.org

Meetal Shah.jpeg

Director of Development

Meetal Shah

"I am a mathematics education researcher. I am a nerd and love collaborating to support the community-facing board members in achieving the RSC's mission through fundraising and other external investment."

Meetal@raleighsistercities.org

Linda Wharton.jpg

Board Member

Linda Wharton

"I am retired after several decades working in software R & D.  Now I enjoy cooking,  gardening, hosting visitors, museums, reading, theater, traveling and spending some time in the Blue Ridge Mountains."

Linda@raleighsistercities.org

EGr8s5aX4AE-yeq.jpeg

Director of Affiliations

Clare Makumi

"I'm a Healthcare Professional and currently a Global Medical Affairs Scientist at GlaxoSmithKline, USA, originally from Nairobi. I help guide our Sister City relationships through new agreements and formation across the world."

Clare@raleighsistercities.org

iStock-1094679762.jpg

Nairobi Ambassador

Isaac Kuria 

Isaac is the President and Founder of Myles of Great Hopes and leads the organization's work in several states and different countries.He enjoys spending time with family and friends, cycling, and organizing events. 

Isaac@raleighsistercities.org

iStock-1094679762.jpg

Hull Ambassador

Katey Ahmann

Katey has worked in the museum field for over 20 years, first at the NC Museum of Life and Sciences and currently at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences as the Head of Featured Experiences. 

Katey@raleighsistercities.org

matt lail.jpg

Director of Communications

Matt Lail 

"I work in marketing and communications during the day, and am a husband, father, and occasional podcaster by night. I love the vibrancy of Raleigh, as well as the tremendous momentum it has as a city on the rise."

Matt@raleighsistercities.org

Melissa Kolodziej.jpg

Board Member

Melissa Kolodziej

"I am the Director of Community Relations for Raleigh Regional Association of REALTORS® where I focus on improving the quality of life and giving back to the communities we serve. I am thrilled to be working with Raleigh Sister Cities and furthering the global outreach efforts of RRAR." 

Melissa@raleighsistercities.org

patricia-hall-a5a760a.jpeg

Chief Information Officer

Pat Hall

"As a recently retired non-profit administrator, I enjoy all the arts that the City of Raleigh has to offer. I like to get out and explore the Raleigh greenways and enjoy hosting group bike rides for RSC."

Info@raleighsistercities.org